Town of Monroe, Indiana

ORDINANCE #2010-4

Additional Designated No Parking Areas

WHEREAS, the Ordinances of the Town of Monroe provide the duly elected Board of Trustees (Town Council) with the authority to designate certain areas as being unavailable for on street parking or off street parking; and

WHEREAS, there are now certain areas that, while not properly marked, have not been available for parking for many years but have recently become common places for public parking; and

WHEREAS, such use as a parking area has caused safety issues for vehicles properly using the streets as well as children at play;

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the following designated areas be established and identified with proper "NO PARKING" signs.

Area #1 - The north side of Jackson Street from the alleyway previously identified as Center Street west to Polk Street.

Area #2 – The north side of Jackson Street from the intersection of Jackson and Van Buren Streets west approximately 50 feet from the centerline of Van Buren.

Area #3 – The south side of Jackson Street east approximately 225 feet from the center of Polk Street.

Area #4 – The south side of Andrews Street from Park Street east to the east property line of the property owned by Adams County. This is the full length of the north property line of the property commonly called the Monroe Town Park.

This Ordinance shall be effective immediately upon passage by the Monroe Town Council.

ADOPTED this 3rd day of June, 2010, during the regularly held public meeting of the Monroe Town Council by the following vote of the duly elected Council Members present:

Michael Geels

1 sles Giesslef

C. Allen Lehman

NAY

AYE

ATTEST:

Rachel Burkhart, Clerk-Treasurer